Students and Parents

Overview

  • Students in grades 6-12 enrolled in a Utah public school are eligible to participate.
  • Students in grades 6-12 enrolled in a private school are eligible to participate in SOEP if:
    • Their custodial parent or legal guardian is a resident of Utah, or
    • They are an exchange student enrolled in a Utah private school under a J-1, J-2, or F-1 visa program.
  • Students in grades 6-12 enrolled in a Utah home school qualify.

>NOTE: Utah Fits All scholarship recipients can not take SOEP classes.

Registration Deadlines (Google Docs)

Current Courses (Google Docs)

Current Providers

Provider Comparisons 5-2024 (Google Docs)

Appeal of Credit Limitation for SOEP Students

If a student has a specific, compelling need to exceed 6.0 online credits during a school year, the family must first file the course requests for the additional credit(s) using the Statewide Online Education Program (SOEP) Online Enrollment.

If these requests are not accepted by your school district or charter school and you wish to appeal this decision, e‐mail the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) at: edonline@schools.utah.gov

Early Graduation

A student may earn extra high school credit(s) in a semester if they intend to complete high school graduation requirements and exit high school early in accordance with an approved Career and College Readiness Plan..

Student Enrollment, Approval and Tracking System (SEATS)

SEATS is a system the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) uses to build contracts between a student's primary school and an SOEP online education provider. An online education provider (typically another school) uses SEATS to indicate that it qualifies for payment for a particular course by marking the course as Pass in this system.

Grades and credits are recorded in two other systems:

  • one at the school level and;
  • one at the state level.

The SEATS system does not give grades. Students can only receive a Pass or Fail in SEATS.

The online education provider will send a transcript with the letter grade to the Parent/Guardian and the Primary School. The Primary school will then record the letter grade in their Student Information System (SIS) on the student’s permanent record.

SEATS Login

 

Register - Create a

New Account

How to Register for a SEATS Account   How to Register for Classes on SEATS
 

 

The Registration Process

  1. Students can work with their school counselor to decide what courses best fit their educational needs.

  2. Registration is a 2 Part Process. 
  3. After the student has enrolled in both SEATS and with the selected Online Provider, the Local Education Agency (LEA) and the Online Provider will approve the course(s).

  4. The student is now able to begin the course(s) on the start date scheduled by the Online Provider

  5. At the successful completion of the course(s) the Online Provider will provide an official transcript to the primary (in-person) school to have the course entered in the student's official school transcript.

If the LEA does not approve the course within 3 business days, SOEP will automatically approve the course.

Students should register for classes at least 1 month before the term begins so that the approval process does not hinder their ability to meet enrollment deadlines and start dates for coursework.

Status Meanings

Pending Execution

By law, the Primary School District/Charter school is guaranteed 24 business hours (3 business days) to review the student's course request. Counselors and Providers are contacted automatically when a student applies through SEATS. If the Primary school does not accept the application within those 24 business hours, then the application will automatically be accepted. Plan ahead and don't wait until the last minute to register for classes!

Once registration is complete in SEATS an email will be sent to confirm the registration. Students will need to also register on the Online Provider's website. This Co-Registration must be done for all classes.

Applications of students that fail to respond to Provider Co-Registration communications will be closed without further action. If you do not receive any communication, please contact edonline@schools.utah.gov or go directly to the provider's website and fill out an enrollment form. You might be asked to select part-time out-of-district as an option.

Enrollment Complete

Your application has been accepted. You have not started the class yet.

Confirmed

You have started your class.

Pass

You have passed the class.

Your letter grade will be sent to your counselor and your guardian on an official transcript. The USBE Administrative Rule requires the online provider issue that transcript to you within 30 days of a student's completion of coursework. No letter grade is reported through SEATS.