To renew or upgrade a Utah Educator License, you will need your Comprehensive Administration of Credentials for Teachers in Utah Schools (CACTUS) Identification/license number. If you do not remember it, please log in to your my.uen account at the Utah Education Network (UEN). If you need your login and password reset, contact UEN directly. You may track the status of your application through your CACTUS record.
Due to the recent change in the educator licensing structure, there are several options for renewal at this time. You may choose to use the New Professional Educator License Renewal Form to renew your license; there is no penalty for renewing from an expired state. Please review the Utah Educator Licensing Renewals School Year 2020-2021 Google Docs resource for renewing educator license types that have been retired and are no longer available. All previous Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3 licenses will be automatically updated to the new Professional License upon renewal, which has a 5-year cycle. (The previous Licenses for the Level 1 with a 3-year cycle and the Level 3 with a 7-year cycle are no longer applicable.) However, you may select to renew or upgrade your license using the process that was in place when your license was awarded. Please review the Licensing Renewal Categories Conversion Google Docs to see how the old renewal activities relate to the new.
We understand the renewal process may seem a bit confusing at this time as we ask educators to go through a change on how they look for points or hours. In an effort to make this process simpler, please review the following:
With this in mind, when listing your activity under Professional Learning, ask yourself if any of those experiences overlapped or crossed over to the other areas referenced on the Professional Educator License (PEL) Renewal Form.
Ask yourself the following questions about the Professional Development you completed and recorded:
1. Earn and document Professional Learning Points based on license level:
2. Have a cleared Utah State Board of Education Background Fingerprint Check (initiated after July 1, 2015): go to Educator Licensing Online to begin.
3. Complete a Utah State Board of Education Ethics Review online at Educator Licensing Online (refer to Step 2)
4. Meet with a Licensed Administrator for signatures and approval of the renewal form
5. Renew License Online at the Educator Licensing Online (refer to Step 2).
A list of definitions pertaining to Licensing.
Attention Educators: Professional License Renewal will be available March 1, 2021.
You may choose to use the Professional Educator License (PEL) Renewal Form to renew your license with only 100 points required to renew. Please review the Utah Educator Licensing Renewals School Year 2020-2021 resource for renewing educator license types have been retired and are no longer available. However, you may select to renew or upgrade your license using the process that was in place when your license was awarded.
There is no penalty for renewing from an expired state.
Inactive Educators may complete 100 points in any area for Professional Educator License Renewal.
Professional License renewals are subject to audit by the Utah State Board of Education. As such, you are required to keep this original signed renewal worksheet and supporting documentation for 24 months as evidence to support your online renewal transaction.
An Associate Educator License may be renewed if the individual has less than 3 years of experience in a Utah public or accredited private school and has earned 100 points within this cycle or the most recent 3 years of the cycle has expired.
There are several license types that have been retired and are no longer available:
However, you may select to renew or upgrade your license using the process that was in place when your license was awarded. Please review the Utah Educator Licensing Renewals School Year 2020-2021 resource to see which renewal options are available.
If an educator who was an International Guest Teacher (on a J-1 visa), but will now be on an H1-B visa: