School Fees

2022 February Newsletter



Reminder - Fee Schedules Due April 1:

As LEAs are completing their fee schedules, be aware the following requirements come into effect for the 2022-2023 school year:

- ▶ Any fee charged must be equal to or less than the expense incurred by the LEA. (Utah Code Annotated (UCA) 53G-7-503(3)(a))
- An LEA may not impose an additional fee or increase a fee to supplant or subsidize another fee. (UCA 53G-7-503(3)(b))
- No fees can be charged for textbooks. (UCA 53G-7-602(3), Utah Administrative Code (UAC) R277-407-12)

Spring Training:

Friday, March 25th, 2022 9:00 a.m. - Noon

Topics will include:

- Final results Statistical Report
- 2022-23 Upcoming Requirements
- LEA Monitoring Visits
- School Fees Accounting Practices



The Bi-Annual School Fees training will be a Hybrid meeting. Attendees can register to either attend in person at the USBE building in South Boardroom or through Zoom.

The training pertains to all Superintendents, Charter Directors, Board Chairs, School Principals, School Fees Contacts, and Business Administrators. A registration link for the training will be sent the beginning of March.

For any questions regarding the training please Email us at: schools.utah.gov

Website Updates:

Updated Documents:

USBE School Fees Model Policy

New Documents:

Fines - Guidance when a fine is not a fee.

Monitoring Visits:

- School fee on-site compliance reviews will be
 conducted March through June. LEAs that are
- scheduled to receive an on-site visit have already
 received a notice.
- The review schedule is determined based on the LEA total enrollment.
 - Enrollment > 10K once every 5 years
 - Enrollment < 10K once every 10 years



Training Focus:

A fine is considered a fee

A fee means something of monetary value requested or required by an LEA, which includes fines for:

- truancy;
- tardies;
- class changes;
- return confiscated cell phone; or
- fines or penalties designed to influence a students behavior,

and therefore are required to:

- board approved fee schedule;
- corresponding spend plan;
- subject to fee waivers;
- equal to or less than the expense incurred by the LEA; and
- may not supplant or subsidize another fee.

When is a fine NOT a fee

A fine is **NOT** a fee, if it is one of the <u>exceptions</u> noted in **53G-7-501(6)(c).**

- Failing to return school property;
- Losing, wasting, or damaging private
 or school property through intentional
 careless, or irresponsible behavior (no
 penalty for damages attributed to normal
 wear and tear);
- Improper use of school property, including a parking violation.

Upcoming:



March:

- ▶ Bi-Annual Training: March 25, 2022

 Hybrid USBE South Boardroom and Zoom
- ▶ LEA monitoring visits

April:

- Fee Schedule Approval deadline: April 1
- ▶ LEA monitoring visits

Notice - Changes to Rule: R277-484 Data Standards

The annual school fee certificate of compliance and statistical report are now included in the <u>USBE Reporting Deadlines</u>.

Also please note that the "fee waiver status" designation is required to be maintained as part of the student record. However, USBE's data collection system is not programmed to received this data; more information to come.

UAC R277-484 Data Standards

- (2) Definitions
 - (9) "Fee waiver status" means the designation, maintained in the Data Warehouse, that a student has been approved or denied for a fee waiver in accordance with Rule R277-407.

School Fees Team:

Thank you to all those who submitted the Certificate of Compliance. The annual school fees reports were emailed to Superintendents and Charter Directors as well as the Business Administrators and School Fee Contact on December 1, 2021; please email us with any questions or concerns at: schoolfees@schools.utah.gov

ANY

TIME

