
   

  

    

  

   

      

    

          

       

   

          

    

           

            

         

R277-318 received final approval by the Utah State Board of Education on August 1, 
2019. R277-318 is published in the September 1, 2019 Utah State Bulletin, subject to a 
30-day comment period, with a first possible effective date of October 8, 2019. 

R277.  Education, Administration. 

R277-318.  Teacher Salary Supplement Program. 

R277-318-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

(1) This rule is authorized by: 

(a) Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and 

supervision over public education in the Board; 

(b) Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to make rules to execute the 

Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah Constitution and state law; and 

(c) Section 53F-2-504, which directs the Board to make rules regarding the 

administration of the Teacher Salary Supplement Program. 

(2) The purpose of this rule is to establish application and appeal procedures for 

administration of the Teacher Salary Supplement Program. 

R277-318-2.  Definitions. 

(1) “Eligible teacher” means the same as that term is defined in Subsection 53F-2-

504(1)(c). 

(2) “Substantially equivalent” means commonly recognized by a Utah university for a 

degree in a specific subject. 

(3) “Teacher Salary Supplement Program” or “TSSP” means the salary supplement 

program authorized by the Legislature in Section 53F-2-504. 

R277-318-3. Program Administration. 

(1) The Superintendent shall allocate funds for salary supplements to eligible teachers 

in accordance with Subsection 53F-2-504(3). 

(2) The Superintendent shall maintain an online application system for the TSSP and 

make it available to educators no later than October 1 of each school year. 

(3) In order to receive an award under this program, an applicant for the TSSP shall 
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apply to the Superintendent by the following deadlines for each school year in which the 

applicant is an eligible teacher: 

(a) for trimester payments to the educator, prior to November 15; 

(b) for semester payments to the educator, prior to January 31; and 

(c) for an annual payment to the educator, prior to April 30. 

(4)(a) If an applicant is denied funds under this rule, the applicant may submit a written 

appeal to the Superintendent prior to June 1 of each school year. 

(b) An appeal under Subsection (4)(a) is limited to the following issues: 

(i) whether the applicant has a degree or degree major with course requirements that 

are substantially equivalent to the course requirements for a degree listed in Section 53F-2-

504; 

(ii) whether the applicant has met the qualifying teaching background requirements 

described in Section 53F-2-504; 

(iii) whether the Superintendent’s initial denial was inconsistent with Section 53F-2-504 

or this Rule R277-318; or 

(iv) whether the Superintendent’s initial denial was based on inaccurate or incomplete 

information. 

(c) The Superintendent may designate a panel of at least two Board staff members to 

review an appeal made under Subsection (4)(a) and make a recommendation to the 

Superintendent. 

(i) A panel designated in accordance with Subsection (4)(c) shall make a 

recommendation in accordance with the provisions of Section 53F-2-504 or this Rule R277-

318. 

(ii) The panel shall make a recommendation on an appeal within 30 days of receipt of 

the written appeal. 

(5) The Superintendent shall issue a ruling on an appeal within 15 days of receipt of the 

panel’s recommendation. 
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(6) The decision of the Superintendent on an appeal is the final Board administrative

action. 

(7) If the appropriation for TSSP is insufficient to cover all eligible teachers entitled to

awards, the Superintendent shall reduce all awards by the same ratio and proportion. 

KEY: TSSP, salary 

Date of Enactment of Last Substantive Amendment: 2018 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 53E-3-401; 53F-2-504 
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