The National Teacher of the Year (NTOY) Program began in 1952 and continues as the oldest, most prestigious national honors program that focuses public attention on excellence in teaching. NTOY, is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) in partnership with Voya Foundation.



NTOY is chosen from among the State Teachers of the Year by a National Selection Committee representing the major national education organizations. Each April, the NTOY is introduced to the American people by the President of the United States. At the national level each State Teacher of the Year submits a written application containing biographical and professional information, eight essays on topics ranging from personal teaching philosophy to the issues facing education, and letters of endorsement. A National Selection Committee, composed of representatives from fifteen national education organizations, meets in early December to choose four finalists from the nominations received and, following personal interviews with the finalists in Washington, D.C. in late February, selects the National Teacher. In April the National Teacher is introduced to the nation by the President and honored in a series of events in Washington, DC.


The CCSSO is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civil and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.

VOYA Financial Logo

VOYA Financial
Voya, which is rebranding from ING U.S., is a premier retirement, investment and insurance company serving the financial needs of approximately 13 million individual and institutional customers in the United States. The company’s vision is to be America’s Retirement Company™ and its guiding principle is centered on solving the most daunting financial challenge facing Americans today — retirement readiness. Working directly with clients and through a broad group of financial intermediaries, independent producers, affiliated advisors and dedicated sales specialists, Voya provides a comprehensive portfolio of asset accumulation, asset protection and asset distribution products and services. With a dedicated workforce of approximately 7,000 employees, Voya is grounded in a clear mission to make a secure financial future possible — one person, one family, one institution at a time.

SMART Technologies Logo

SMART Technologies is donating a SMART kapp 84” system along with a one year license and software. Additionally, each district winner will receive the SMART Notebook Classroom License with one year Advantage Classroom as well.

Utah State Office of Education (USOE)

Utah State Office of Education (USOE)
The 2016 UTOY winner will receive $10,000, the first runner up will receive $5,000 and the second runner up will receive $3,000 from USOE, as well as a banquet held in their honor at the Double Tree Suites.

PC Laptops

PC Laptops
We are pleased to have again for the ninth year as a sponsor of the program PC Laptops. They have donated a laptop to our 2016 UTOY. This year they also donated a pair of tickets to each district winner to Salt Lake ComicCon as well as two Rumbi Grill $50 gift certificates as door prizes.

ALL Filters Logo

All Filters
We would like to thank All Filters LLC, this is their fourth year as a sponsor of our program. The donated a Platypus Hydration Pack and a Rainshow’r RS-502 Shower Filter to each district winner.

Great Harvest Logo

Great HarvestWe would like to thank Great Harvest for their donation of beautiful bread baskets to each of the district winners. This is their 11th year supporting our program. Donations provided by the following stores:

  • 6357 South Redwood Road, Taylorsville
  • 905 East 900 South, Salt Lake City
  • 2066 South 2100 East, Salt Lake City
  • 4667 South 2300 East, Holladay
  • 217 East 12300 South, Draper


This is McDonalds 10th year sponsoring our program. This year they donated a $10 gift certificate to each district winner as well as a $250 Visa Card to the 2016 UTOY.

O.C Tanner Logo

O.C. Tanner
O.C. Tanner, has been a long time sponsor of our program. We appreciate their dedication to teachers. This year they donated an engraved crystal bridge to each district winner.