This page provides step by step instructions for processes done with the Comprehensive Administration of Credentials for Teachers in Utah Schools (CACTUS) database.
A standard Level 1 license is a Utah professional educator license issued upon completion of an approved preparation program, an alternative preparation program, or pursuant to an agreement under the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) Interstate Contract, to candidates who have also met all ancillary requirements established by law or rule.
A standard Level 2 license is a Utah professional educator license issued after satisfaction of all requirements for a Level 1 license as well as the Entry Years Enhancement (E.Y.E.) requirements established by law or rule relating to professional preparation or experience.
A standard Level 3 license is a Utah professional educator license issued to an educator who holds a current Utah Level 2 license and has also received, in the educator’s field of practice, National Board Certification, a doctorate from an accredited institution, or a Certificate of Clinical Competence from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA).
An individual holding a current Utah educator license who is currently employed by a Utah public school, accredited private school (K-12), or the Utah State Board of Education (USBE), or who was employed by one of those entities in a role covered by the license for at least three years in the individual's license cycle. The length of the license cycle depends on the individual’s license level; Level 1 = 3 years; Level 2 = 5 years; Level 3 = 7 years.
An individual holding a current or expired Utah educator license who does not meet the criteria for an Active educator; not currently employed by a Utah public or accredited private school and who was employed by such an entity for less than three years in the individual’s license cycle. The length of the license cycle depends on the individual’s license level; Level 1 = 3 years; Level 2 = 5 years; Level 3 = 7 years.
An individual that holds a current Utah Educator license with an Administrative/Supervisory license area of concentration or an individual currently employed by a Utah local education agency (LEA) or Utah accredited Private School in an administrative position or an individual that is licensed as an administrator in another state that has reviewed the Utah license renewal rules (R277-500) or if the renewing educator is the highest administrative authority in an LEA (superintendent or charter school director), the president or chairperson of the local board of education.
Most licensing processes require you to complete this online review of the ethical rules for educators.
You will need at least 30 minutes of uninterrupted time to finish the 25 multiple choice questions. If you do not answer a question correctly, you will be guided to the correct answer. You will receive an email notice that you have successfully completed it. Notice of completion will automatically be sent to USBE.
Please note, you may need to change your name on your UEN account to be able to enter your CACTUS record. The security features on the system require that the name on your UEN account exactly match the name posted in CACTUS.
Transcripts submitted with an application to the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) must be original, which can be paper or electronic.
Original (paper) Transcripts: "Sealed" transcripts in the university envelope are not required, but the documents must be original on the college/university "scrip-safe" paper. Photocopies or transcripts you have electronically received and printed will not be accepted. Send transcripts with the completed application to:
250 East 500 South
P.O. Box 144200
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200
Electronic Transcripts: USBE accepts electronic transcripts as long as those are submitted directly from the college/university “clearinghouse” (transcript service) to email@example.com. Transcripts should be emailed before you submit your application, and your application should indicate in which method the transcripts were submitted and from which college/university. If your college/university is not set up to send transcripts through a clearinghouse you will need to mail an original paper transcript with your application packet to USBE.
You will be able to change your mailing address, phone number, and e-mail.
Utah Law (53A-1a-512.5) requires that each applicant for a Utah Educator License must satisfactorily complete a background fingerprint check. A USBE Background Fingerprint Check initiated after July 1, 2015 are continuously monitored. Educators who maintain a current license once completing a background fingerprint check after July 1, 2015, will not need to renew their background fingerprint check again through the online process. To complete the background fingerprint check, an applicant must submit fingerprints for review by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).
If you live in Utah, you are required to complete a background check, including a fingerprinting via LiveScan. To start the process go to Educator Licensing Online, select Background Check and follow the prompts. You will receive an e-mail within 24 hours with your authorization form and a list of LiveScan sites attached. Please also check your junk mailbox or spam for an email from firstname.lastname@example.org. The fingerprinting portion must be completed within 60 days of beginning the online process. You may be charged a fee at the LiveScan site.
If you live outside of Utah, select fingerprint cards, and you will receive a packet in the mail with instructions to complete the packet within 60 days of beginning the online process.
UPPAC is the arm of the USBE charged with promoting and maintaining the high degree of professional ethics and practice required in the education profession. Please contact UPPAC at (801) 538-7745, for questions and concerns about documents and procedures to clear background checks with issues.
There are three options to obtain verification of your Utah Educator License, subject to the license status:
To view your CACTUS record, which is essentially your Utah Educator License, you will need to be able to log in to your Utah Education Network (UEN) account.
If you have trouble entering CACTUS, please verify that your birthdate, social security number, and name are the same in UEN and CACTUS. If you need to correct any of this information, please contact Educator Licensing.