Maintaining a Utah Educator License

Active/Inactive Renewal for a Utah Educator License

To renew a Utah Educator License, you will need your Comprehensive Administration of Credentials for Teachers in Utah Schools (CACTUS) ID/license number. If you do not remember it, please log in to your Utah Education Network (UEN) account at my.uen.org.  If you need your log in and password reset, contact the UEN directly. You may track the status of your application through your CACTUS record.

Steps for Active Educators

To be considered an Active Educator, you must either have a current teaching position in Utah, OR have taught for more than half of the school years in your renewal cycle in Utah (2 of 3 years for Level 1 licensed educators, or 3 of 5 years for Level 2/3 licensed educators).

1. Professional Learning Points (at least two should from Youth Suicide Prevention Training)

  1. Level 1/Level 1 LEA-Specific/APT Licensed Educators must have accumulated 100 professional learning points since their last renewal, or in the most recent three (3) years if their license is expired. Level 1 Educators who have taught in Utah for three contracted years cannot renew a Level 1 license, and must upgrade to the level 2 license by completing the E.Y.E. upgrade requirements.
  2. Level 2/3 and Level 2 LEA-Specific Licensed Educators must have accumulated 200 professional learning points since their last renewal, or in the most recent five (5) years if their license is expired.
  3. At least two of these points must be earned by completing Youth Suicide Prevention Training through your employing LEA. This training is required by Utah Code 53A-1-603 to be provided by your LEA; contact your administrator for more information.

2. Background Check and Ethics Review

  1. Complete a USBE Fingerprint Background Check at Educator Licensing Online. Background checks initiated after July 1, 2015 are continuously monitored. Educators that maintain a current license once completing a background check after July 1, 2015 will not need to renew their background check again through the online process. 
  2. Complete a Utah Educator Ethics Review at Educator Licensing Online. All educators renewing a license must complete the ethics review within 12 months of renewing the license.

3. Complete the appropriate renewal application for your license level. Categorize and tabulate your points according to the list of Renewal Categories.

  1. Level 1
  2. Level 2/3

4. Meet with your licensed administrator to have your renewal form and documentation of your renewal points verified. Please note, be sure to sign and initial all pages.

5. License Renewal

  1. Level 1 licensed Educators need to submit their renewal application by mail to USBE at the address on the application.
  2. Level 2/3 licensed Educators must renew their licenses online at Educator Licensing Online through the Level 2/3 Renewal link, or the Expired License Renewal link if their license is expired. Retain the hard copy of your signed renewal application for at least 12 months. All online renewals are subject to a random audit. In the event your online renewal is audited, you will need to submit the hard copy of your renewal application. Failure to complete and retain a copy of the proper application could result in your renewal being rescinded.

Steps for Inactive Educators

Inactive Educators do NOT have a current teaching assignment, AND have taught in Utah for less than half of their renewal cycle. All inactive educators intending to renew an educator license shall, in collaboration with a licensed administrator, develop and maintain a professional learning plan. You may utilize the USBE tools to develop a Professional Learning Plan.

1. Professional Learning Points

  1. Level 1/Level 1 LEA-Specific/APT Licensed Educators must have accumulated 100 professional learning points since their last renewal, or in the most recent three (3) years if their license is expired. Level 1 Educators who have taught in Utah for three contracted years cannot renew a Level 1 license, and must upgrade to the level 2 license by completing the E.Y.E. upgrade requirements.
  2. Level 2/3 and Level 2 LEA-Specific Licensed Educators must have accumulated 200 professional learning points since their last renewal, or in the most recent five (5) years if their license is expired.
  3. Inactive Educators are not required to complete youth suicide prevention training.

2. Background Check and Ethics Review

  1. Complete a USBE Fingerprint Background Check at Educator Licensing Online. Background checks initiated after July 1, 2015 are continuously monitored. Educators that maintain a current license once completing a background check after July 1, 2015 will not need to renew their background check again through the online process. 
  2. Complete a Utah Educator Ethics Review at Educator Licensing Online. All educators renewing a license must complete the ethics review within 12 months of renewing the license.

3. Complete the appropriate renewal application for your license level. Categorize and tabulate your points according to the list of Renewal Categories.

  1. Level 1
  2. Level 2/3

4. Meet with a licensed administrator to have your renewal application and documentation of your renewal points verified. Please note, any licensed administrator is authorized to review and approve your renewal form regardless of where you live or your employment status. Be sure to sign and initial all pages. Additional information for administrators is available at the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) section.

5. License Renewal

  1. Level 1 licensed Educators need to submit their renewal application by mail to USBE to the address on the application.
  2. Level 2/3 licensed Educators must renew their licensed online at Educator Licensing Online through the Level 2/3 Renewal link, or the Expired License Renewal link if their license is expired. Retain the hard copy of your signed renewal application for at least 12 months. All online renewals are subject to a random audit. In the event your online renewal is audited, you will need to submit the hard copy of your renewal application. Failure to complete and retain a copy of the proper application could result in your renewal being rescinded.

Renewal Categories

In order to be valid for renewal, professional learning activities must fall into the categories detailed in R277-500. This website details those categories and provides additional guidance regarding policy not covered in the rule.

Professional Learning Timeframes

If you hold a current Utah educator license, only professional learning activities that have been completed since your last renewal are valid for renewal.

If you hold an expired Utah educator license, only professional learning activities completed within one license cycle from the date of renewal can be counted. The license cycle is defined as the length of time for which a license is valid. A level 1 license is valid for 3 years, a level 2 license is valid for 5 years, and a level 3 license is valid for 7 years.

Categories

A. Licensed educator experience
B. A college/university course
C. USBE professional learning credit
D. LEA-sponsored or approved professional learning activities
E. Acceptable alternative professional learning activities
F. Conferences, workshops, institutes, symposia, or staff-development programs
G. Content and pedagogy testing
H. Utah university sponsored cooperating teachers
I. Service in a leadership role in a professional education organization
J. Educational research and innovation that results in a final, demonstrable product
K. Substituting in a Utah public LEA or accredited private school
L. Paraprofessional or volunteer service in a Utah public LEA or accredited private school

A. Licensed Educator Experience:

  1. Active educators may earn licensure renewal points based on their employment in a position requiring a Utah educator license during their license cycle.
  2. Only years of employment with satisfactory performance evaluations may be counted for license renewal points.
  3. A Level 1 license holder may earn 25 license renewal points per year of employment to a maximum of 50 points per license cycle.
  4. A Level 2 or 3 license holder may earn 35 license renewal points per year of employment to a maximum of 105 points per license cycle.

Guidance/Clarification:
An educator that is working for a public school or regionally-accredited private school in another state may also receive points for their employment as long as they received satisfactory performance evaluations. An educator that is employed by an institution of higher-learning (college/university…etc.) or by a supplemental instructional service (Sylvan Learning Center – Non-Day School) does not receive these points and is not considered an active educator. An inactive educator may still receive these points for years in which they were active even if they do not currently meet the criteria as an active educator. For example, a Level 2 license holder that is not currently employed but was employed for 2 of the previous 5 years is considered an inactive educator, but may count 70 points towards license renewal (35 per year for Level 2).

Employment of half-time (720 annual contract hours) or more earns the full points per year listed above. Employment of less than half time earns points as described in the following tables:

Level 1 License Holders

Annual Contract Hours Points
0-179 5
180-359 10
360-539 15
540-719 20
720+ 25

 
Level 2/3 License Holders

Annual Contract Hours Points
0-144 10
145-288 15
289-432 20
433-576 25
577-719 30
720+ 35


B. A college/university course:

  1. Shall be successfully completed with a C grade or better, or a pass.
  2. Each semester credit hour, as recorded on an official transcript, equals 18 license renewal points.

Guidance/Clarification:
Only non-remedial (course number > 100 or 1000) coursework at regionally-accredited universities may be counted for renewal points. If a licensed educator is employed by a university and is teaching university level coursework they may receive the same renewal points as an individual taking the course, but may only count each unique course once per renewal cycle. For example, if an educator is teaching 2 sections of English 1010, worth 3 semester credits, at the local community college they may receive 54 license renewal points, but if the educator is teaching 1 section of English 1010 and 1 section of English 2010, also worth 3 semester credits, they may receive 108 license renewal points. As teaching the course does not appear on a university transcript, this would need to be documented differently. Typically a letter from the dean of the college detailing the classes taught is acceptable.

C. USBE professional learning credit:

  1. Shall be State-approved under R277-519-3;
  2. Shall be successfully completed through attendance and required project(s).
  3. Each USBE credit hour equals 15 license renewal points.

Guidance/Clarification:
USBE professional learning credit should be verified through the Massively Integrated Data Analytical System (MIDAS). Professional learning sponsored by another state does not fall into this category, but rather falls into category D or E. Educators serving as the instructor of such a course receives points equivalent to an individual that took the course. This category is limited to once per course per license cycle similar to the example described under category B.

D. LEA-sponsored or approved professional learning activities:

  1. Shall be approved by the LEA at least four weeks prior to the scheduled activity;
  2. May include LEA or school-based professional learning such as: 
    participating in professional learning communities; 
    development of LEA or school curriculum; 
    planning and implementation of a school improvement plan; 
    mentoring a Level 1 teacher; 
    engaging in instructional coaching; 
    conducting action research; 
    studying student work with colleagues to inform instruction.
  3. Each clock hour of scheduled professional learning activity time equals one license renewal point, not to exceed 25 points per activity per year.

Guidance/Clarification:
The list under category D(2) is not intended to be a comprehensive list, but rather is to provide examples of non-traditional activities that improve educator skill. This type of professional learning activities may be documented in MIDAS or a completion certificate provided by the LEA that includes the educator’s name. Otherwise it should be documented with a letter from the school principal or responsible LEA administrator detailing the activity and the participation of the particular educator.

E. Acceptable alternative professional learning activities:

  1. Acceptable activities are those that enhance or improve education, yet may not fall into a specific category.
  2. These activities shall be approved by the educator's supervisor, by a licensed administrator if the educator is an inactive educator, or with prior written approval by the USBE.
  3. Each clock hour of participation equals one license renewal point, not to exceed 25 points per activity.

Guidance/Clarification:
This category is intended to include any appropriate professional learning activity that is not included in any other category that the educator feels enhances their skills in the classroom. The licensed administrator that is signing off on the renewal or professional learning plan has the final determination as to whether or not a particular activity will be approved. Any such activity should be directly related to the educator's skills and teaching areas and should be professional in nature; not informal.

Example: an integrated science teacher has the opportunity to work at a dinosaur dig site with local university professors during the summer and details the experience using video journals to enhance their lessons in the coming year. This activity will increase the teacher’s ability to instruct students on any paleontology related lesson and is formal in nature. This type of activity should be approved.
Non-example: an integrated science teacher goes camping every summer and brings back interesting floral samples and fossils to enhance their instruction. While this activity may certainly improve instruction in the class, this collection is not formal and is not increasing the skills of the teacher; it is enhancing classroom materials. This type of activity should not be approved.

There is no clear black and white line in regards to this category. Again, the final determination as to whether an activity is appropriate in this category is made by the licensed administrator signing the renewal form of the educator.

F. Conferences, workshops, institutes, symposia, or staff-development programs:

  1. Acceptable workshops and programs shall be approved by the educator's supervisor, by a licensed Administrator if the educator is an inactive educator, or with prior written approval by the USBE. 
  2. Each clock hour of participation equals one license renewal point, not to exceed 25 points per activity.

Guidance/Clarification:
This category pertains to professional learning activities completed outside of an educator's employing LEA, accredited private school, or through USBE. A certificate of completion that includes the educator’s name is the most appropriate way of documenting this type of activity. A copy of an agenda or program alone is not an acceptable form of documentation. Other documentation, such as an agenda accompanied by a registration payment receipt with the educator’s name, may be acceptable at the discretion of the licensed administrator.

G. Content and pedagogy testing:

  1. Acceptable tests include those approved by the Board.
  2. Each Board-approved test score report submitted, with a passing score, equals 25 license renewal points.
  3. Each test must be related to the educator's current or potential license area(s) or endorsement(s). 
  4. No more than two test score reports may be submitted in a license cycle.

Guidance/Clarification:
This cateogry is typically a Praxis II content knowledge or principles of learning and teaching (PLT) test used for earning a new license area or endorsement or for USBE (State) Qualified designation. Tests approved for licensure use in another state but not used in Utah are not valid in this category.

H. Utah university sponsored cooperating teachers:

  1. An educator working as a cooperating teacher with one or more student teachers may earn license renewal points.
  2. Each clock hour spent supervising, collaborating with, and mentoring assigned student teachers equals one license renewal point not to exceed 25 points per license renewal cycle.

Guidance/Clarification:
This category is only to be used in association with UTAH colleges/universities that have an accredited teacher preparation program. Please note that validation of time spent in this role is subject to administrator review and approval.

I. Service in a leadership role in a national, state-wide, or LEA-recognized professional education organization:

  1. Acceptable service shall be approved by the educator's supervisor or by a licensed administrator if the educator is an inactive educator.
  2. Each clock hour of participation equals one license renewal point, not to exceed 10 points per year.

Guidance/Clarification:
If necessary, this activity can be documented by a letter from the current head of the organization detailing the role and dates served.

J. Educational research and innovation that results in a final, demonstrable product:

  1. Acceptable activities shall be approved by the educator's supervisor or by a licensed administrator if the educator is an inactive educator.
  2. The research activity shall be consistent with school and LEA policy.
  3. Each clock hour of participation equals one license renewal point, not to exceed 35 points per activity.

Guidance/Clarification:
“Final, demonstrable product,” means a dissertation, a master’s thesis, a scholarly article (published or otherwise), presentation to professional group, or presentation to a school faculty.

K. Substituting in a Utah public LEA or accredited private school (inactive educators only):

  1. Shall be considered an acceptable professional learning activity only for inactive educators paid and authorized as substitutes.
  2. Two hours of documented substitute time equals one license renewal point, not to exceed 25 points per year or 50 points per license cycle.
  3. Verification of hours shall be documented on LEA or school letterhead, list dates of employment, and signed by the supervising administrator.

Guidance/Clarification:
Substituting in a public or regionally accredited private school outside of the state of Utah is also acceptable under the same guidelines.

L. Paraprofessional (teacher aid) or volunteer service in a Utah public LEA or accredited private school (inactive educators only):

  1. Shall be considered an acceptable professional learning activity only for inactive educators.
  2. Three hours of documented paraprofessional (teacher aid) or volunteer service equals one license renewal point, not to exceed 25 points per year or 50 points per license cycle.
  3. Verification of hours shall be documented on LEA or school letterhead, list dates of service, and signed by the supervising administrator.

Guidance/Clarification:
Paraprofessional (teacher aid) work or volunteer service in a public or regionally accredited private school outside of the state of Utah is also acceptable under the same guidelines.

Return to Licensure (RTL) Program

This program allows educators with an expired license to return to teaching while completing requirements to fully renew their license.

You will need your Comprehensive Administration of Credentials for Teachers in Utah Schools (CACTUS) ID/license number to complete this program. If you do not remember it, please log in to your Utah Education Network (UEN) account at my.uen.org.  If you need your log in and password reset, contact the UEN directly. You may track the status of your application through your CACTUS record.

Phase 1: Qualifications

  1. Applicant must be considered an inactive educator in Utah.
  2. License must be expired at least one school year.
  3. Complete a Utah State Board of Education (USBE) Fingerprint Background Check at Educator Licensing Online.
  4. Complete an Educator Ethics Review at Educator Licensing Online.
  5. Position Requirement: obtain contract position with a Utah local education agency (LEA). Assignment must be posted in CACTUS.

Phase 2: Plan and Application

    1. Educator and Principal/Director jointly complete Return to Licensure Application (part 1 of 2). Professional Learning Plan must be outlined on application: see Samples. Please retain a copy of this plan to review periodically with your principal/director.
    2. Educator submits application to USBE within 30 days of hire.
    3. No professional learning points are required for this renewal program.
    4. For Level 1 Licensed Educators: if the educator has three or more years of licensed experience in Utah, upon completion of this program the license is subject to the E.Y.E. upgrade requirements for Level 2 license.
    5. Educator will receive an email indicating that the application and plan have been approved.
    6. All educators participating in this program are issued a temporary "Level 1-Returning" license by USBE. Upon completion of the program, the educator's original license level is reinstated.

Phase 3: Work toward Plan Goals

  1. Throughout the school year, educator works to complete plan goals as outlined with principal/director (including exams, if applicable).

Phase 4: Plan Completion and Re-licensure

    1. Educator reviews goal completion* and completes the Return to Licensure Renewal Application (part 2 of 2) with principal/director to obtain all appropriate signatures.
    2. Submit renewal application and fee to USBE prior to June 30. Please include a copy of part 1 when you submit part 2.
    3. For Level 1 Licensed Educators: if part of your plan was to complete E.Y.E. upgrade requirements, please include the E.Y.E. Manual Upgrade Application

* If an educator fails to complete this program, or does not submit the Renewal application (part 2) prior to the deadline, they will need to complete a regular license renewal with appropriate points.

For questions, please contact Educator Licensing at (801) 538-7740.

Upgrade to Level 2 or Level 3 Utah Educator License

The upgrade process allows an educator in Utah to upgrade to a higher license level after completing certain requirements based on the existing license level.

You will need your Comprehensive Administration of Credentials for Teachers in Utah Schools (CACTUS) ID/license number to complete an upgrade. If you do not remember it, please log in to your Utah Education Network (UEN) account at my.uen.org.  If you need your log in and password reset, contact the UEN directly.

Upgrade to Level 2

All Level 1 licensed educators employed or re-employed in the Utah Public schools are required to complete the Entry Years Enhancement (EYE) program before they can upgrade to a Level 2 license. The goal of the EYE. program is to encourage Level 1 licensed educators to develop successful teaching skills and strategies as described in the Utah Effective Teaching Standards with assistance from experienced mentors. Upon successful completion of three years of service and all EYE requirements, the employing local education agency (LEA) may approve for a Level 2 Utah Professional Educator License. If all EYE requirements have not been met, the LEA may request a one-time, one-year extension at their discretion.

  1. Completed all EYE upgrade requirements; review the EYE Brochure with your administrator and LEA Human Resources for details.
  2. Cleared Background check after July 1, 2015.
  3. Completed ethics review within one calendar year of upgrade.
  4. Approval in CACTUS by employing LEA beginning January of the license expiration year.
  5. Complete final step online at Educator Licensing Online.  
  6. If LEA is unable to approve in CACTUS, the EYE Manual Upgrade Application must be completed by the LEA and submitted to USBE for processing.
  7. For expired Level 1 licenses: submit both the Level 1 Renewal Form and the E.Y.E. Manual Upgrade Application to USBE for processing.

Upgrade to Level 3

To upgrade to a level 3 license, an educator must qualify for a Level 2 license and complete a doctorate in an education related field, or hold National Board Certification, or a current Certificate of Clinical Competence from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA). Submit an original transcript showing completion of the doctoral degree, or a copy of the National Board Certificate, or original evidence of Certificate of Clinical Competence with maintenance dates along with a letter, include your CACTUS number, requesting upgrade to a level 3 License to:
USBE Licensing
250 East 500 South
PO Box 144200
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4200

Those with a doctorate degree, electronic transcripts will be accepted only if sent directly from the college/university through a transcript clearinghouse to transcripts@schools.utah.gov. Please make a note on the letter that transcripts have been sent electronically to USBE.

Those with a National Board Certification or Certificate of Clinical Competence must retain an updated certificate. Please send re-verification of active certificates to USBE.