Requirements for Driver Education Endorsement

Endorsement requires completion of all SIX steps and consists of 16 semester hours

University of Utah Continuing Education: https://continue.utah.edu/noncredit/health

1. <u>A) Health Education 3500</u> – University of Utah credit (2 semester hours).

- OR -

B) Health Education 350 – Non-matriculated student (2 USBE credits). Same class as Health Education 3500. All participants must register through the University of Utah continuing education and elect non-matriculated student

2. A) Health Education 3510 - University of Utah credit (2 semester hours).

- OR -

<u>B) Health Education 351</u> – Non-matriculated student (2 USBE credits). Same class as Health Education 3510. All participants must register through the University of Utah continuing education and elect non-matriculated student.

USBE Professional Learning Midas Education: https://usbe.midaseducation.com/site.php?page_id=1210

- 3. <u>Driver Education State Law and Policy</u> USBE Midas Education (2 USBE credits or 2 SUU semester hours). Participants elect credit option when registering for class.
- Examiners Training Online examiner training. This training will be the last course you take prior to applying for your endorsement. The course link will be provided to you during your training. Participants are required to provide completion certificate and submit with endorsement application. Examiner training certification is valid for 1 year and must be kept current.
- 5. <u>Current CPR/First Aid card</u> A copy of both front and back of their certification card must be submitted with endorsement application. Certification is valid for 2 years and must be kept current.
- 6. <u>Student Teaching Practicum</u> USBE credit (8 USBE credits). You need to register in Midas Education for this course which logs 120 hours of driver education teaching and observation time. This is student teaching for driver education. Participants must log practicum hours. Participants may not drive or teach without direct supervision of a certified mentor. The mentor must be a certified driver education instructor, currently teaching driver education. Your mentor must also complete their mentoring course before you will be allowed to complete your student teaching practicum course.

For more information, contact the driver education specialist: Audra G. Urie (801) 538-7648 <u>audra.urie@schools.utah.gov</u> 250 East 500 South, PO Box 144200 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200