## Utah State Board of Education Hearing on Administrative Rule R277-328

July 22, 2021

## **Board Members Attending:**

Chair Mark Huntsman	Member Molly Hart
Vice Chair Laura Belnap	Member Matt Hymas
Member Jennie Earl	Member James Moss
Member Janet Cannon	Member Brent Strate
Member Scott Hansen	Member Carol Lear
Member Natalie Cline	Member Randy Boothe – electronic
Member Stacey Hutchings	Vice Chair Cindy Davis – electronic
Member Kristan Norton	

#### **Others Attending:**

Ben Rasmussen, Hearing Officer Angie Stallings, USBE Deputy Superintendent Cybil Child, Board Secretary Alex Farah, USBE Internal Technology Jeff Van Hulten, USBE Director of Public Affairs Bryan Quesenberry, Assistant Attorney General Michelle Beus, Assistant Attorney General Kathy Helgesen, Administrative Assistant Cammy Wilcox, Administrative Services Manager Sydnee Dickson, USBE State Superintendent – electronic Patty Norman, USBE Deputy Superintendent – electronic Jerry Record, USBE Internal Technology – electronic

## Rule R277-328, Educational Equity in Schools.

Hearing officer Ben Rasmussen called the hearing to order at 4:00 p.m.

#### Hearing Officer Overview and Rule Background

The hearing officer provided background information about the public hearing. This is a Public Hearing convened according to Utah Code Annotated 63G-3-302 and Utah Administrative Code Rule R15-1-1. Utah State Board of Education (USBE) has received multiple written requests for a public hearing regarding proposed amendments to Rule R277-328, Educational Equity in Schools.

This hearing is the next step in a comprehensive process employed by the Board in connection with the Utah Rulemaking Act. The Board has debated the rule, taken public comment, both in committees and full board meetings and made amendments to the rule over the last few months. This amended rule was published in the Utah State Bulletin on July 1, 2021, and several groups have requested a public hearing following state law.

The public hearing requestors had ten minutes each for their public comments in the following order: Utah Education Association, Academic Integrity Movement, Mormon Women for Ethical Government, the Utah Ethnic Studies Coalition, and Utah Citizens for Positive Change; followed by comments from those who have signed up for public comment in advance.

#### Public Hearing Requestors:

Utah Education Association

- Heidi Matthews
- Dr. Sara Jones

Utah Ethnic Studies Coalition

- Michelle A. Love-Day
- Curtis Linton
- Dr. Jackie Thompson
- Dr. Kathleen Christy

Utah Citizens for Positive Change

- Genevra Prothero
- Kelly Jones
- Allison Schlichter
- Emily Furse

Academic Integrity Movement

- Jessica Fiveash
- Monica Wilbur
- Bernadette Brockman

Mormon Women for Ethical Government

- Briawna Ainge Hugh
- Melarie Wheat
- Elizabeth VanDerwerken

# **Public Hearing Comments:**

The Utah House Democratic Caucus	Jayrod Garrett
Jeanetta Williams	Jimmy May
Kendell Rich	Michael Smith
Gloria Vindas	Debbie Foreman
Steve Henderson	Benjamin Jones
Andrea Stringfellow	Allison Cook
Harmony Vanderhorst	April Munson
Jennifer Myers	Linda Isom
Kierstin Glenn	Dan White
Nicole Christoffersen	Sophia Anderson
Bianca Mittendorf	Max and Sheena Hansen
Jennifer Graviet	April Despain
Emily Furse	

The hearing was adjourned at 6:00 p.m.

Cybil Child, Board Secretary Minutes approved August 5, 2021. ADA Compliant: 7-13-23