UTAH STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

December 8, 2020

A special meeting of the Utah State Board of Education was held December 8, 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the meeting was held electronically. The meeting was streamed live to the public. Chair Mark Huntsman presided. At the direction of the Chair, Vice Chair Brittney Cummins conducted.

Members and Members-elect Present

Chair Mark Huntsman Vice Chair Brittney Cummins Member Laura Belnap Member Janet A. Cannon Member Cindy Davis Member Jennie Earl Member Scott L. Hansen Member Carol Barlow Lear Member-elect Randy Boothe Member-elect Natalie Cline Member-elect Molly Hart Member-elect Matt Hymas Member-elect Kristan Norton Member-elect James Moss Jr. Member-elect Brent J. Strate

Minutes taken by:

Lorraine Austin, Board Secretary

Others Present:

Sydnee Dickson, Patty Norman, Scott Jones, Angie Stallings, Ben Rasmussen, Jeffrey Van Hulten, Jerry Record—USBE staff; Bryan Quesenberry, Michelle Beus—Assistant Attorneys General

Opening Business

Vice Chair Brittney Cummins called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. She read the following statement: "As authorized by Utah Code 52-4, this meeting is being held electronically without an anchor location to reduce the risk to health and safety from COVID-19 by limiting the frequency of in-person meetings."

Vice Chair Cummins explained that in accordance with Utah Code 53E-3-201 the Board members-elect for 2021 are assuming the position of the outgoing members for purposes of the election of Board officers.

Determination of Number of Vice Chairs

MOTION was made by Member Belnap and seconded that the Board elect two Vice Chairs for 2021-2022.

Motion carried, with Member Cannon opposed.

Board Chair Election

A brief video was shown by Jeff Van Hulten, Director of Public Affairs, to explain the ranked voting system that will be used for the election of officers.

Vice Chair Cummins announced that Mark Huntsman was nominated for Board Chair and invited additional nominations. There were no additional nominations.

Member Huntsman made a statement and answered questions.

Electronic ballots were distributed, and the results were verified by Vice Chair Cummins, Ben Rasmussen, Director of Law and Policy, and Lorraine Austin, Board Secretary.

Vice Chair Cummins announced that Member Huntsman was elected unanimously as Board Chair for 2021-2022.

First Vice Chair Election

Vice Chair Cummins announced that Laura Belnap and Cindy Davis were nominated for First Vice Chair and invited additional nominations. Cindy Davis pulled her name from consideration, and there were no additional nominations.

Member Belnap made a statement and answered questions.

Electronic ballots were distributed, and the results were verified by Vice Chair Cummins, Ben Rasmussen, Director of Law and Policy, and Lorraine Austin, Board Secretary.

Member Belnap was elected unanimously as First Vice Chair for 2021-2022.

Second Vice Chair Election

Vice Chair Cummins announced that James Moss was nominated for Second Vice Chair and invited additional nominations. Member Hansen nominated Cindy Davis and she accepted the nomination.

Member Davis and Member-elect Moss made statements and answered questions.

Electronic ballots were distributed, and the results were verified by Vice Chair Cummins, Ben Rasmussen, Director of Law and Policy, and Lorraine Austin, Board Secretary.

Vice Chair Cummins announced that Member Davis was elected Second Vice Chair in a 9-6 vote.

Voting Results

Davis #1 votes: Belnap, Cannon, Cummins, Davis, Hansen, Hart, Lear, Norton, Strate Moss #1 votes: Boothe, Cline, Earl, Hymas, Huntsman, Moss

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:47 p.m.

[For additional information on items from the meeting, see General Exhibit No. 20-28.]

Loraine Austin, Board Secretary Minutes approved January 6, 2021