### **UTAH STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES**

December 11, 2018

A special meeting of the Utah State Board of Education was held December 11, 2018 at the Utah State Board of Education Building, 250 East 500 South, Salt Lake City, Utah. Chair Mark Huntsman presided.

#### **Board Members Present:**

Chair Mark Huntsman
First Vice Chair Brittney Cummins
Second Vice Chair Alisa Ellis
Member Laura Belnap
Member Michelle Boulter
Member Janet A. Cannon

Member Lisa Cummins
Member Jennifer Graviet
Member Linda B. Hansen
Member Carol Barlow Lear
Member Scott Neilson
Member Kathleen Riebe

### **Board Members-elect Present:**

Cindy Davis Jennie Earl Scott L. Hansen

#### **Others Present:**

Sydnee Dickson, Scott Jones, Angie Stallings, Lorraine Austin, Emilie Wheeler, Ben Rasmussen, Debbie Davis, Keith Lawrence—USBE staff; Michelle Beus, Bryan Quesenberry—Attorney General's Office.

# **Opening Business**

Chair Mark Huntsman called the meeting to order at 5:08 p.m. He welcomed newlyelected board members Cindy Davis, Jennie Earl and Scott Hansen.

Ben Rasmussen, Director of Law and Policy, explained the voting process for electing Board officers according to Board Policy 2002. Board members were also provided information on Board officer elections in the Board Bylaws and Utah Code 53E-3-201.

#### **Determination of Vice Chairs**

**MOTION** was made by Member Belnap and seconded that the Board elect one vice chair [for 2019 and 2020].

ADA Compliant: 12/17/2019

Member Belnap spoke to her motion, expressing her feeling that leadership seems to run better and work more closely together when there are only two people. She requested that if the motion passes, Board leadership work more closely with the standing committee chairs.

Other members expressed that having more than one vice chair allows for more diversity of thought, and that limiting leadership to just one vice chair places more power on two people. Board members were supportive of more committee chair involvement.

Motion carried, with Laura Belnap, Brittney Cummins, Jennifer Graviet, Linda Hansen,
Mark Huntsman, Scott Hansen, Scott Neilson and Kathleen Riebe in favor, and Michelle Boulter,
Janet Cannon, Lisa Cummins, Cindy Davis, Jennie Earl, Alisa Ellis and Carol Lear opposed.

### **Election of Officers**

# <u>Chair</u>

Vice Chair Brittney Cummins conducted this portion of the meeting. She asked for nominations from the floor for the position of Board Chair. There were no nominations from the floor. Members Lisa Cummins and Mark Huntsman, who had been previously nominated, were given the opportunity to make statements to the Board.

Members and members-elect voted by ballot. Vice Chair Cummins, Ben Rasmussen, and Board Secretary Lorraine Austin counted the votes.

Vice Chair Cummins announced the results that Mark Huntsman was elected Board Chair for 2019 and 2020, with a 13-2 vote.

Voting results are as follows:

Mark Huntsman votes: Belnap, Boulter, B. Cummins, Davis, Ellis, Cannon, Graviet, L. Hansen, S. Hansen, Huntsman, Lear, Neilson and Riebe.

Lisa Cummins votes: L. Cummins, Earl.

## Vice Chair

Chair Huntsman resumed as the meeting chair. He invited nominations for Vice Chair from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor.

Members Janet Cannon, Brittney Cummins and Alisa Ellis, who were previously nominated, were invited to make statements to the Board.

The members and members-elect voted by ballot. Chair Huntsman, Ben Rasmussen, and Lorraine Austin counted the votes.

Chair Huntsman announced that Brittney Cummins was elected Vice Chair for 2019 and 2020, 8-5, after the second round of vote counting.

# Voting Results

First round of vote counting:

Cannon #1 votes: Cannon, Graviet, Lear.

B. Cummins #1 votes: Belnap, B. Cummins, Davis, L. Hansen, S. Hansen, Huntsman, Riebe.

Ellis #1 votes: Boulter, L. Cummins, Earl, Ellis Neilson.

Second round of vote counting (includes #1 votes and #2 votes from Member Cannon's ballots).

B. Cummins: Belnap, B. Cummins, Davis, Graviet, L. Hansen, S. Hansen, Huntsman, Riebe.

Ellis: Boulter, Earl, Ellis, L. Cummins, Neilson.

## Adjournment

Motion was made by Member Boulter and seconded that the meeting adjourn. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 6:00 p.m.

Lorraine Austin, Board Secretary Minutes approved January 10, 2019