Fingerprint and Background Check
Utah Law (53A-1a-512.5) requires that each applicant for a Utah Educator License must satisfactorily complete a fingerprint and background check. A fingerprint and background check clearance is also required within one year for applicants renewing or upgrading a Utah Educator License. To complete the background check, an applicant must submit fingerprints for review by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).
Instructions for Fingerprints/Renewals/Upgrades
Frequently Asked Questions
If you live in Utah, you are required to complete a background check, including a fingerprinting via LiveScan. To start the process go to Educator Licensing Online, select Background Check, and follow the prompts. After paying the current fee, you will receive two emails. The first email is confirmation of your payment for your records; the second email will come within 24 hours and will include your authorization form and a list of LiveScan sites. The fingerprinting portion must be completed within 60 days of your online payment. You may be charged an additional fee at the LiveScan site. LiveScan Locations.
If you live outside of Utah, select fingerprint cards, and you will receive a packet in the mail with instructions to complete the packet within 60 days of your online payment.