SEARCH
 

TOP

USBE Meetings - Summary

January 13, 2017

 

Highlights

In its January 13 meeting, the Utah State Board of Education:

  • Agreed to continue looking at a statewide kindergarten entry and exit assessment.
  • Approved 68 Digital Teaching and Learning Qualified Grant Program applications.
  • Granted waivers from the 180-day rule to three Utah schools.

 

Eight New Board Members Take the Oath of Office

Lt. Gov. Spencer J. Cox administered the oath of office to the eight new members. You can learn more about current Board Members here.

 

Board Will Continue to Study Statewide Kindergarten Entry, Exit Assessments

The Utah State Board of Education referred back to its Standard and Assessment Committee a proposal to initiate statewide kindergarten entry and exit assessments.

Board Members expressed concerns about costs involved with the program, among other concerns.

 

For additional information contact:

jennifer[dot]throndsen[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Jennifer Throndsen), English Language Arts Coordinator, at (801) 538-7893.   

julie[dot]benson[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Julie Benson), Educational Development Coordinator, at (801) 538-7542.   

diana[dot]suddreth[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Diana Suddreth), Teaching and Learning Director, at (801) 538-7788.   

joellen[dot]shaeffer[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Jo Ellen Shaeffer), Assessment and Accountability Director, at (801) 538-7811.   

rich[dot]nye[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Rich K. Nye), Deputy Superintendent of Student Achievement, at (801) 538-7550.   

 

Top of Page

 

Board OKs Digital Teaching and Learning Qualified Grants

The Utah State Board of Education approved 68 plans for the Digital Teaching and Learning Program.

 

For additional information contact:

sarah[dot]young[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Sarah Young), Digital Teaching and Learning Coordinator, at (801) 538-7808. 

diana[dot]suddreth[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Diana Suddreth), Teaching and Learning Director, at (801) 538-7788.

patty[dot]norman[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Patty Norman), Assistant Superintendent of Student Achievement, at (801) 538-7760.

rich[dot]nye[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Rich K. Nye), Deputy Superintendent of Student Achievement, at (801) 538-7550.

 

Top of Page

 

Board Takes Last Look at Legislative Priorities Ahead of Session

The Utah State Board of Education make some final adjustments to its list of legislative priorities ahead of the 2017 General Session of the Utah Legislature, which opens on Jan. 23. The Board continues to prioritize fully funding of growth in the system along with a 2.5 percent increase in the weighted-pupil unit of funding.

In a separate motion, the Board also voted to support Rep. Stephen Handy's House Concurrent Resolution 5 Concurrent Resolution on Clean Fuel School Buses.

The Board will track education issues during legislative the session.

 

For additional information contact:

angela[dot]stallings[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Angela Stallings), Deputy Superintendent of Policy and Communication, at (801) 538-7550.

scott[dot]jones[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Scott Jones), Deputy Superintendent of Operations, at (801) 538-7514.   

 

Top of Page

 

Three Schools Granted Waivers from 180-day Rule

The Utah State Board of Education granted the following schools waivers from Board Rule requiring 180 days and 990 hours of instruction in schools. All three schools will still offer 990 hours of instruction, but not 180 days.

  • American Leadership Academy was granted a three-year waiver of the 180-day rule to move to a four-day school week.
  • Viewmont Elementary School in the Murray School District was granted a one-time, one-day waiver of the 180-day rule in light of one-day closure due to a leaking pipe.
  • Logan High School was granted a one-time, two-day waiver of the 180-day rule because of a snow day that is compounded by construction at the school.

The Board also voted to take another look at the 180-day, 990-hour rule.

 

Top of Page

 

RFP for Second Cohort of School Turnaround Discussed

In accordance with new state law, the Utah State Board of Education began operating a new school turnaround program in 2016. The program was funded with $7 million in ongoing funds, $1 million in one-time funds, and $297,000 in federal funds. Costs for the first cohort in the program are estimated at $16,249,041 or $7,952,041 more than was budgeted. Because some of the obligations are not yet due, on-going funding will be able to cover the deficit, but the Board voted to engage in an RFP process that will not exceed budget allocations for the second cohort.

 

For additional information contact:

sheryl[dot]elsworth[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Sheryl Elsworth), School Turnaround Specialist, at (801) 538-7733. 

rich[dot]nye[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Rich K. Nye), Deputy Superintendent of Student Achievement, at (801) 538-7550.

natalie[dot]grange[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Natalie Grange), Assistant Superintendent of Financial Operations, at (801) 538-7668.

 

Top of Page

 

Board OKs $97,949 in Hazardous Route Grants

New state law set up a grant program for districts who bus students over hazardous routes. Five districts -- Alpine, Duchesne, Murray, Ogden, and South Summit -- put in requests for just under $97,949 in grant funds. The Utah State Board of Education approved those grant requests.

  

For additional information contact:

murrell[dot]martin[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Murrell Martin), Pupil Transportation Specialist, at (801) 538-7666.

natalie[dot]grange[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Natalie Grange), Assistant Superintendent of Financial Operations, at (801) 538-7668.

 

Top of Page

 

Board Reviews Trust Lands Annual Reports

Representatives from the State Treasurer's Office, School and Institutional Fund Board, School and Institutional Trust Fund Office, School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration, and Utah State Board of Education School Children's Trust Section presented their annual reports to the Board.

 

For additional information contact:

tim[dot]donaldson[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Tim Donaldson), School Children's Trust Director, at (801) 538-7709.

 

 

Top of Page 

 

Board OKs Waiver Process for Certain Courses, Will Reexamine State-required Credits

The Utah State Board of Education approved a motion to allow district and charter schools to apply for waivers from the seventh-grade College and Career Awareness course and/or the eighth-grade Digital Literacy Course. The waiver process will be determined at a later date. Board Rule R277-700-5 has not changed. Unless a district or charter school receives a Board-approved waiver, College and Career Awareness (1.0 unit of credit) and Digital Literacy (0.5 unit of credit) remain required middle school courses.

In a separate motion, the Board also voted to initiate the creation of a task force to examine all state-required courses.

 

For additional information contact:

thalea[dot]longhurst[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Thalea Longhurst), Career and Technical Education Director, at (801) 538-7865. 

rich[dot]nye[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Rich K. Nye), Deputy Superintendent of Student Achievement, at (801) 538-7550.

 

Top of Page

 

Board to Look Anew at Driver Education Standards

The Utah State Board of Education will begin a review of driver education standards in light of new driver distractions and driver assisted vehicle issues. The review is being done on a one-year timeline.

 

For additional information contact:

troy[dot]nordick[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Troy Nordick), Driver Education Specialist, at (801) 538-7648. 

joleigh[dot]honey[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Joleigh Honey), Secondary Math Specialist, at (801) 538-7794.

diana[dot]suddreth[at]schools[dot]utah[dot]gov(Diana Suddreth), Teaching and Learning Director, at (801) 538-7788.

 

Top of Page

 

Board Preliminarily OKs Two Rule Amendments

More information about proposed rules and their most current drafts can be found here.

The Utah State Board of Education preliminarily approved the following rule amendments and new rules. Final approval will likely come during the Board's February 10 meeting.

 

Top of Page  

 

Board Approves Consent Calendar

The Board approved consent calendar items:

 

Top of Page