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Fiscal year 

The 365-day period from 

July 1 to June 30. 

Aggregate clock hours of 

attendance 

The sum of all contact 

hours for all students    

during a fiscal year. 

Fee 

Any charge, deposit, rental, 

or other mandatory     

payment. 

Tuition 

A charge levied for     

educational services. 

SECTION 7 
FINANCIAL ACCOUNTABILITY 

State Rules 

A fee means any charge, deposit, rental, or other mandatory payment however 

designated, whether in the form of money or goods. (Board Rule R277-733-1 M 

Board Rule: 

“All fees are subject to approval by the local school board of education” 

(Board Rule R277-733-9 B). 

Board Rule: 

“Fees may be charged for consumable and non-consumable items necessary for 

adult high school courses, courses that satisfy requirements outlined in      

R277-733-9 F and consistent with R277-733-1 D-E, and R277-733-1 H.” 

Tuition: “base cost of an adult education program providing services to the adult 

education student.” (Board Rule R277-733-1 X)  

Board Rule: 

“Tuition and fees shall be charged for ESOL, ABE, or AHSC courses in an amount 

not to exceed $100 annually per student based on the student’s ability to pay as 

determined by federal free and reduced lunch guidelines, under the Richard B. 

Russell National School Lunch Act, 42, USC 1751, et seq.  The appropriate     

student fees and tuition shall be determined by the local school board or for 

CBO’s, a board of trustees.” (Board Rule R277-733-9 B) 

The district superintendent may declare a fee waiver for students meeting certain 

income guidelines. 

Utah law requires that individuals who do not meet the criteria or eligibility to     

participate in adult education programs in Section A be charged tuition equal to 

that of a nearby college (includes applied technical colleges) or university or have 

the cost of their education paid for by the K–12 system (Utah Code 53A-15-404 2). 

Federal Rules 

Programs (school districts and/or other nonprofit eligible providers) receiving     

federal Adult Education and Family Literacy Act (AEFLA) funds may charge     

reasonable and necessary tuition or fees to be used specifically to provide      

additional adult education and literacy services that the program would otherwise 

be unable to provide.  34 CFR 80.25 allows for State grantees of AEFLA awards to 

earn program income.  Subsection 80.25(b) defined program income as stated.  

Collected fees and tuition must be used to assist adult students in becoming     

literate, obtaining knowledge and skills necessary for employment and    

self-sufficiency, obtaining the education skills necessary to become full partners in 

their child’s education, and completing their secondary school education      

(AEFLA Section 202). 
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 State and Federal Program Responsibilities 
 

Programs are responsible to annually define in a written plan to the USOE how 

collected fees/tuition will be used to provide literacy services they would otherwise 

be unable to provide. 

 

The local program superintendent/chief executive officer (CEO) and business   

administrator are responsible by signature to acknowledge the assurances as part 

of the program’s grant (state and AEFLA) plan(s) submission, including, all fees 

and tuition collected and submitted for accounting purposes are returned/

delegated to the local adult education program to be used solely and specifically 

for adult education programming and not withheld and maintained in a general 

maintenance and operation fund or used for any other funding purpose.  

 

General Rules 
 

Collected Fees & tuition should be used in the year when collected but, must be 

spent in the adult education program during the ensuing program year.          

(Board Rule R277-733-9 L) 

 

Annually, programs that receive AEFLA funding must also report for the current 

year as well as the previous year if funded collected and expended fee balances. 

Fees collected are suppose to be “first in and first spent” before AEFLA State 

funds. 

 

Directors must ensure that tuition and fees collected from students are not counted 

toward meeting federal matching, cost sharing, or maintenance of effort            

requirements related to the local program’s award. (Board Rule R277-733-9 K) 

 

Budgets and Funding Accountability 
 

Programs are responsible to keep an accounting of adult education funds 

(monitored through the Utah State Office of Education) as well as other            

contributing revenue, including but not limited to, collected fees and tuition that 

support adult education activities by respective USOE accounting budget        

numbers.  Expenditures of adult education funds identified by a program in the 

budget sheet of a federal application may not be changed by more than 10 percent 

for any line item purpose without written approval from the Utah State Office of 

Education, adult education state coordinator.  A revised budget sheet must be  

submitted documenting approved budget categorical changes prior to the final   

approval of reimbursement requests. 

 

Federal budgets are monitored through federal fund reimbursement requests that 

shall be made at a minimum quarterly (Edgar 76.702, 76.722, 76.730, 76.31).   

Administrative costs associated with federal funds may not exceed more than 5 

percent.  An exception may be negotiated through the Utah State Office of         

Education adult education state coordinator. 
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