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Adult High School Completion 

(AHSC) or Adult Secondary 

Education (ASE) 

Instruction designed below the 

collegiate/post-secondary 

level for the adult who 

(1) has basic skills and      

competence levels in reading, 

writing, speaking, problem     

solving and computation; and                                  

(2) may or may not have a 

certificate of graduation (or its 

equivalent) from a school  

providing secondary          

education. 

Includes grades 9.0 through 

12.0.  

 

Adult Basic Education (ABE) 

Program of instruction below 

the 9.0 academic grade level 

for adults who lack             

competence in reading,     

writing, spelling, problem  

solving or computation at a 

level necessary to function in 

society, on a job, or in a    

family. 

 

English for Speakers of Other 

Languages (ESOL) 

Program below the collegiate/

post-secondary level for     

non-native-English-speakers 

who lack competence and        

language acquisition in any of 

the following: reading, writing, 

speaking, problem solving or 

listening. 

 

Board Rule 

Refers to Utah State Office of 

Education (USOE) Board Rule. 

 

College Career Readiness 

Academic skills are necessary 

that students must know and 

be able to succeed in entry 

level courses offered at      

institutions of higher learning. 

 

Transition Services 

Information and services    

provided to students as they 

leave adult education to assist 

them in successful entry into 

college or careers. 

SECTION 1 
ELIGIBILITY TO PARTICIPATE IN ADULT EDUCATION 
INSTRUCTION 
 

Utah Adult Education is a program of instruction below the collegiate                 

(post-secondary) level for adults.  Utah Adult Education is comprised of 

Adult High School Completion (AHSC/ASE), Adult Basic Education (ABE) 

and English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) and, as a Utah   

requirement, is provided to out-of-school persons 16 years of age and 

older having demonstrated proof of Utah residency. 

 

As a Utah requirement and for clarification of the definition of adult     

education in  determining who is eligible for adult education services, the 

federal Workforce Investment Act Title II (1998)(section 203 AEFLA)  

definition is utilized as the state standard for all programs. 

 

The Workforce Investment Act Title II (Sec. 203 AEFLA) describes adult 

education as:  

   Services or instruction below post-secondary level for individuals that 

are: 

16 years (attained) not enrolled or required to be enrolled in    

secondary school under state law; and  

          i.     lack sufficient mastery of basic educational skills to enable 

them to function effectively in society;  

             ii.    do not have a secondary school diploma or its recognized      

equivalent (GED®), and have not achieved an equivalent 

level of education; or 

 iii.   are unable to speak, read or write the English language. 
 

NOTE: Academic instruction must be provided to persons qualifying for 

services in the student’s lowest academic area of instruction as          

determined by a formal state assessment. 

 

Two main funding sources exist to provide services for adults. 

 State legislative Minimum School Program (MSP) funds available to 

school  districts only on a state allocation basis.  

 Federal Adult Education and Family Literacy Act (AEFLA) funds    

available to both school districts and nonprofit community-based   

organizations on a competitive award basis. 

Funding is not assured from year to year and is typically based on the 

performance or success the state maintains.  State and federal funds  

require that the Utah State Office of Education (USOE) and local        

programs assure certain processes and are accountable for the funds 

provided 
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Resident and Non-Resident Students 

Utah adult education services may be offered to persons eligible to    

participate in adult education whose primary residence is located in a 

border community not conducive to their commuting to the neighboring 

state’s closest adult education  program.  These individuals are not    

subject to paying out-of-state tuition. Programs that are eligible boarder 

programs are defined in Establishing Proof of Utah Residency – Adult   

Education Policies and Procedures Tab 18. 

 

It is a Utah State Office of Education requirement that federal funds 

awarded to districts or community-based organizations be used to serve 

Utah students.  A student must meet the following eligibility criteria for 

the use of federal funds: 

 He/she provides proof of Utah residency, or 

 His/her primary residence is located in a border community not 

conducive to their commuting to the neighboring state’s closest 

adult education program. 

 

Allowable Use of State or Federal Adult Education Funds 

 

Students meeting funding codes 2, 3, 6, and 7 as defined below qualify 

for use of state or federal funds for eligible activities in adult education.  

Note:  all adult education instructional services are available only to   

persons who academically are below the collegiate/post-secondary level 

of a 12.9 academic grade level.  Students who academically test at or 

above the 12.9 grade level in all assessed areas are not entitled to adult 

education AHSC, ABE and/or ESOL services through the use of either 

state or federal adult education funds. 
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Out-of-school youth 

16- and 17-year-old 

 youth officially released 

 from the day school 

 program. 

 

Emancipated 

Age of majority (in Utah the 

age of majority is 18);      

includes underage           

individuals who are married 

and/or individuals who are 

adjudicated. 

 

Adjudicated 

An individual who is viewed 

by the court as an adult. 

 

Weighted Pupil Unit (WPU) 

The Weighted Pupil Unit is 

the basic source of funding 

for public education and 

accounts for about half of all 

school funding.  It is paid to 

districts according to      

enrollment. 

 

 

 

 

 

Entering of 

Funding Code                            Allowable Use of State Funds   

Further Explanation 

 

1. Out-of-School Youth Eligibility 

Adult education programs have a responsibility to provide educational                

opportunities to adults and out-of-school youth age 16 or older who have not 

graduated with a secondary education diploma or its equivalent.  

(Board Rule R277-733-1-S-T)  

 

Programs must assure school district administrators that they will not actively 

seek students who are enrolled in K-12 programs. Use of state or federal adult 

education funds to support activities in adult education is allowed if the student 

has written documentation of “not being enrolled” in a K-12 program, i.e., a 

completed “Adult Education Program and/or GED Testing Application for 16-18 

Year-Old Non-Graduates” form. 

2  16-19 years of age 

 Not a high school graduate 

 Class has not graduated 

 Out-of-school youth 

 Submits a completed “Adult Education Program and/or GED Testing       Application 

for 16-18 Year-Old Non-Graduates” form 

 Academically assessed with a state approved assessment, demonstrating less than post-

secondary (12.9) grade level in reading, writing, math, speaking, or listening.  Program 

must focus on improving basic literacy in the lowest of the above named areas of in-
struction, college and career readiness, transition, in addition to other goals set by stu-

dent and education staff. 

3  17 years of age and over 

 Not a high school graduate 

 Class has graduated 

 Academically assessed with a state approved assessment, demonstrating less than    

post-secondary (12.9) grade level in reading, writing, math, speaking, or listening.  

Program must focus on improving basic literacy in the lowest of the above named areas 
of instruction, in addition to other goals set by student and education staff. 

6  Under 18, but legally documented as a adult 

 Not a high school graduate 

 Academically assessed with a state approved assessment, demonstrating less than    

post-secondary (12.9) grade level in reading, writing, math, speaking, or listening.  

Program must focus on improving basic literacy in the lowest of the above named areas 
of instruction in addition to other goals set by student and education staff. 

7  16 years of age and over 

 High school graduate  (either at the time of entry or as a result of completing an adult 

education diploma or GED) 

 Academically assessed with a state approved assessment, demonstrating less than 

AHSC I (9.0) grade level in reading, writing, math, speaking, or       listening.  Up to 
120 instructional contact hours may be provided to ABE     (1-4) EFL qualified      

students.  Instruction must be to improve basic literacy in reading, math or English 

based on an established EFL. Post-testing must be completed within the instructional 
time period (120 hours) to ascertain any level gains.  When the student completes 120 

instructional hours whether or not they achieve an AHSC I level in their EFL         

instructional area , they must be permanently exited from the adult education program 
and separated from UTopia.  These students may not re-enroll in an adult education 

program.  

 For ESOL students, who have received a verified diploma outside of the United States, 

the above policy does not apply as instruction will be in ESL reading/writing or    
speaking/listening which is less than an AHSC I level of instruction. 
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Americans with Disabilities 

Act 

No qualified individual with a 

disability, by reason of such 

disability, shall be excluded 

from participation in or be 

denied the benefits of the 

services, programs, or    

activities of the USOE, or be 

subjected to discrimination 

by the USOE. Board Rule     

R–277–104–2-C 

 

Nondiscrimination 

“Adult education programs 

must take continuing steps 

to notify participants,      

beneficiaries, applicants, 

elementary and secondary 

school parents, employees 

(including those with       

impaired vision or hearing), 

and unions or professional 

organizations that have 

agreements with the        

recipient that it does not 

discriminate on the basis of 

age, race, color, national 

origin, sex or disability”  
(Title:34 CFR 106.9) (Section 

504:34 CFR 104.8) 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Adult education programs/courses may also be made available to public educa-

tion students who are younger than 18 as determined to be necessary by local 

adult education programs.                                 (Board Rule R277-733-1-S) 

 

2. Adjudicated or Married Exceptions 

If a Utah resident is adjudicated or married, the student is treated as if he/she 

were 18 years of age (the age of majority in Utah, emancipated).  A student who 

self-reports that he/she is married must show evidence in the form of a certified 

marriage certificate. 

 

Non-Allowable Use of State or Federal Funds 

 

Students meeting funding codes 4, 5, 8 and 9 do not qualify for state adult edu-

cation funds. Students meeting code 9 must pay tuition, as would be charged at 

the nearest public college or university. The WPU must be used to pay for tuition 

and associated cost for students meeting criteria for codes 4, 5, and 8.     
 
     Entering of 

   Funding Code                    Non-Allowable Use of State or Federal Funds         
 

 

4  Under 18 years of age 

 Not a high school graduate 

 Currently attending both a K-12 program and an adult education program 

 Academically assessed with a state approved assessment, demonstrating less than 

post-secondary (12.9) grade level in reading, writing, math, speaking, or listening.  

Program must focus on improving basic literacy in the lowest of the above named 
areas of instruction. 

 Seeking a K-12 diploma 

5  18 years of age and over or emancipated 

 Not a high school graduate 

 Currently attending both a K-12 program and an adult education program 

 Academically assessed with a state approved assessment, demonstrating less than 

post-secondary (12.9) grade level in reading, writing, math, speaking, or listening.  

Program must focus on improving basic literacy in the lowest of the above named 
areas of instruction. 

 Seeking a K-12 diploma 

8  Summer senior 

 Class has graduated 

 Currently attending an adult education program to complete courses for a K-12 

diploma 

 Academically assessed with a state approved assessment, demonstrating less than 

a post-secondary (12.9) grade level in reading, writing, math, speaking, or            
listening.  Program must focus on improving basic literacy in the lowest of the 

above named areas of instruction. 

9  Out-of-state resident 

 Academically assessed with a state approved assessment, demonstrating less than 

a post-secondary (12.9) grade level in reading, writing, math, speaking, or           

listening.  Program must focus on improving basic literacy in the lowest of the 
above named areas of instruction. 

 Exception: Persons from the bordering state of Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, 

Colorado, and Wyoming seeking/attending a Utah adult education program are not 

considered out-of-state students for enrollment in adult education programs in: 
Washington, Kane, San Juan, Uintah,     Daggett, Logan, Cache, and Tooele 

school districts; and community-based organization programs: English Language 

Center of Cache Valley.    Note: These students would be coded 2, 3, 6, or 7. 
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Further Explanation 
 

Use of State Funds for K–12 Students whose class has not    

graduated and who want to enroll in adult education.  

 

All public education funds are required to follow the student.  For       

example, if a 17-year-old student whose class has not graduated who 

currently is attending a K-12 program of instruction wants to enroll in a 

Utah Adult High School Completion program with the intention of    

graduating from a K-12 high school, the district Weighted Pupil Unit 

(WPU) generated by that student from the K–12 program must be 

transferred to the adult education program to pay for the student’s  

education. The funds are to be pro-rated if the student transfers to the 

adult education program after the beginning of a school year based on 

time spent in the adult education program.  

(Board Rule R-277-733-7-A-5). 

 

Board Rule: 

“A student under 19 years of age who has not graduated and who is a 

resident of the district, may, with approval under the state administered 

Adult Education Standards, enroll in the Adult Basic and Adult High 

School Completion program and generate regular state WPUs at the rate 

of 990 clock hours of membership per one weighted pupil unit per year, 

1 FTE on a yearly basis.  The clock hours of students enrolled part-time 

must be pro-rated.” (Board Rule R-277-733-7-A-5). 

 

If the WPU does not follow the student for his/her participation in adult 

education, the program should charge the student full fees and tuition, 

just as the student would pay to the nearest public college (includes  

applied technology colleges) or university (Utah Code 53A-15-404 2). 

 


