Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA)

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) was originally signed into law by President Lyndon B. Johnson in 1965 to provide Federal funding to assist schools that serve high numbers or high percentages of students from low-income families. Since then, ESEA has been reauthorized by Congress several times. In 2001, ESEA was reauthorized as the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB). In December 2015, ESEA was reauthorized and signed into law as the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). ESEA as amended by ESSA will go into effect beginning with the 2017-2018 school year. The remainder of the 2015-2016 school year and the 2016-2017 school year will be an orderly transition period from NCLB as states await new guidance for ESSA implementation from the U. S. Department of Education.

Programs Funded by ESEA

The ESEA provides federal funding for education programs including: Title I, Part A: College and Career Ready; Title I, Part C: Migrant Education; Title I, Part D: Neglected and Delinquent; Title III: Services for English Learners; Title IV: 21st Century Community Learning Centers; Title VII: American Indian Education; and McKinney-Vento Homeless Education. 

State Programs

Intergenerational Poverty Interventions (IGP) Grant

Partnerships for Student Success Grant

School Turnaround Grant

Utah Consolidated Application (UCA)