USOE Home » Science » PAEMST

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

PAEMST Overview

What is PAEMST?

PAEMST is the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 mathematics and science (including computer science) teaching. Established by Congress in 1983, the PAEMST program authorizes the President to bestow up to 108 awards each year.

Why Apply?

Recipients of the award receive the following:

  • A certificate signed by the President of the United States.
  • A paid trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities.
  • A $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation (NSF).
  • In addition to recognizing outstanding teaching in mathematics or science (including computer science), the program provides teachers with an opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation. This growing network of award-winning teachers serves as a vital resource for improving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and keeping America globally competitive.

Do I qualify and what is the process for applying?

Click here for more information from PAEMST.


Utah Science Teachers Association (USTA) Conference


Webinar coming soon!

Previous Winners

Secondary:                                                          Elementary:

2015   Magdalene (Maggie) Huddleston                  2014   Britnie Powell

2013   Andrew (Drew) Neilson                               2012   Julie Hammari

2011   James (Jim) Larson                                    2010   Mathilda (Tillie) Uribe

2009   Amy Pace                                                 2008   Vickie Ahlstrom

2007   Ty Robinson                                              2006   Antinette Haggerty

2005   Bradford Talbert                                        2004   Carol Skousen

2003   Emma Smith                                            2002   Ann Houmand

2002   Ken O'Brien                                              2001   Patti Seeholzer

2001   Rosalee Riddle                                          2000   Peggy Wittwer

2000   Curtis Craig                                              1999   Sally Ogilvie

1999   Glen Westbroek                                         1998   Terri Denney

1998   Steven Cox                                               1997   Carrie Jones

1997   Sharon Miya                                              1996   Teresa Rountree

1996   Kathleen Ochsenbein                                  1995   Cathy Welch

1995   Barry Bishop                                              1994   Darrell Spendlove

1994   Duane Merrell                                            1993   Karen Bishop

1993   Vern Bangerter                                          1992   Susan Fredrickson

1992   Brett D. Moulding                                      1991   Rebecca Olson

1991   Ronald Cefalo                                            1990   Peggy Crandall

1990   Thomas (Phil) Talbot          

1989   Michael Harris

1988   Dwight Brown

1987   Linda Preston

1986   LaMont Jensen

1985   John Heppler

1984   M. Hunt, Jr.

1983   Carl Bruce