USOE Home » Math Secondary » PAEMST

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) 

PAEMST Overview

What is PAEMST?

PAEMST is the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 mathematics and science (including computer science) teaching. Established by Congress in 1983, the PAEMST program authorizes the President to bestow up to 108 awards each year. 

Why Apply?

Recipients of the award receive the following:

  • A certificate signed by the President of the United States.
  • A paid trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities.
  • A $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation (NSF).

In addition to recognizing outstanding teaching in mathematics or science (including computer science), the program provides teachers with an opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation. This growing network of award-winning teachers serves as a vital resource for improving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and keeping America globally competitive.

Do I qualify and what is the process for applying?

Click here for more information from PAEMST.


Utah Council of Teachers of Mathematics (UCTM) Conference


Webcast - PAEMST Overview and Support

Video Tips and Tricks

Previous Winners

1983: Jacquelyn Stonebraker

1984: Jolene Morris

1985: Doyle Rowley

1986: Charles Miller

1987: Steven Cottrell

1988: David Pehrson

1989: Pamela Giles

1990: Carletta Elich

1991: Marilyn Keir

1992: Cindy Watson-Cunningham

1993: Robinette Bowden

1994: David Barton

1995: Janet Walter

1996: Christine Waddell

1997: Kristin Hadley

1998: Sandra Tanner

1999: Adella Croft

2000: Diana Suddreth

2001: Mary Richmond

2002: Ember Storrs

2003: Scott Hendrickson

2005: Leslie Butler

2007: Travis Lemon

2009: Janet Sutorius

2011: Vivian Shell

2013: Nathan Auck