Education Requirements - Middle School

Utah Administrative Code Rules

Middle School Education Requirements

A. The Board shall establish a Core Curriculum for middle school education.

B. Students in grades 7-8 shall earn a minimum of 12 units of credit to be properly prepared for instruction in grades 9-12.

C. Local boards may require additional units of credit.

D. Grades 7-8 Core Curriculum requirements and units of credit:

  • General Core (10.5 units of credit):
    • a. Language Arts (2.0 units of credit);
    • b. Mathematics (2.0 units of credit);
    • c. Science (2.0 units of credit);
    • d. Social Studies (1.5 units of credit);
    • e. The Arts (1.0 units of credit):
      • i. Visual Arts;
      • ii. Music;
      • iii. Dance;
      • iv. Theatre.
    • f. Physical Education (1.0 units of credit);
    • g. Health Education (0.5 units of credit);
    • h. Career and Technical Education, Life, and Careers (1.0 units of credit);
    • i. Educational Technology (credit optional);
    • j. Library Media (integrated into subject areas).

E. Norm-referenced tests shall be given to all middle school students in grade 8.